Myra Szabo Takes Third at Provincials

Myra Szabo, on the right.

Myra Szabo, on the right.

Nick Murray

Eight wrestlers from Moose Jaw's High School Wrestling Club qualified for the Saskatchewan High Schools Athletic Association (SHSAA) Provincial Wrestling Championships, which was held in Saskatoon over the weekend.

Ethan La Rose, Justin Wiens, Kyle Yamniuk, Tristan Kuntz, Dylan Yamniuk, Kassandra Loucks, Myra Szabo and Brayden Johnson all represented Moose Jaw in the event. All the wrestlers, with the exception of Brayden Johnson are students at A.E. Peacock. Johnson attends Central Collegiate.

Of the eight competitors, only Myra Szabo of Peacock reached the podium. She had a record of four wins and two loses. She defeated Madison Byrd, from Carlton Comprehensive in Prince Albert, by fall, in her final match to win third place in the 80kg class. 

The students in the event ranged from grade nine to grade twelve, in their respective weight classes.

Up next for the competitors is the Saskatchewan Amateur Wrestling Association Provincials.

moose jaw