Marie Wright Nominated for Canadian Sports Award


MJ Independent

Moose Javian Curling legend Marie Wright was nominated for a Canadian Sports Award for the category of Winter Sports Team.

Marie Wright was a member of the Canadian Paralympic Wheelchair Curling team who won bronze at the Winter Paralympics in Pyeongchang, South Korea. Her teammates were Mark Ideson (London, Ont.), Ina Forrest (Armstrong, B.C.), Dennis Thiessen (Sanford, Man.), Marie Wright (Moose Jaw, Sask.), alternate Jamie Anseeuw (Oak Bluff, Man.) and coach Wayne Kiel (Balgonie, Sask.)

Marie Wright

Marie Wright

Marie's team didn't win the award however. But the nomination sure was nice. The award ultimately went to Jennifer Jones' Team Winnipeg (Jones, Kaitlyn Lawes, Jill Officer, Dawn McEwen, Shannon Birchard, Wendy Morgan and Elaine Dagg-Jackson) who won both the Scotties Tournament of Hearts and the Ford Women's Curling Championship this year.

Also nominated for the award was the Olympic Women’s Hockey team and the Canadian Para Ice Hockey team.

This was the The 41st edition of the Canadian Sports Award, although the event had been on hiatus since 2012. The Awards honour the top Canadian athletic performances over the past 12 months, in addition to legacy awards honouring a body of work over a career.

Here is the full list of winners from the event.

Full list of award winners:

Male Athlete of the Year (summer): Damian Warner

Female Athlete of the Year (summer): Brooke Henderson

Male Athlete of the Year (winter): Brian McKeever

Female Athlete of the Year (winter): Kim Boutin

Partners of the Year Award (summer): Melissa Humana-Paredes and Sarah Pavan

Partners of the Year Award (winter): Scott Moir and Tessa Virtue

Team of the Year (summer): Men's Commonwealth Games basketball team

Team of the Year (winter): Team Jennifer Jones

National Initiative Award: John Gallo

Athlete Rep of the Year: Iñaki Gomez

Leadership in Sport Award: Michele O'Keefe

AthletesCAN Social Responsibility Award: Mark Tewksbury

True Sport Award: Jill Officer

Bruce Kidd Leadership Award: Chandra Crawford

Inclusion Award: Sami Jo Small and Billy Bridges

People's Choice Award for Performance of the Year at the 2018 Winter Olympic Games: Scott Moir and Tessa Virtue